Rebel Noise hosts the US premiere of “Ellipsisism” by UK post-punk band Cannibal Animal.

Cannibal Animal - Photo courtesy of the band

Proper Northern chaos will reign supreme once again as Hull, England post-punk four-piece Cannibal Animal get set to release their forthcoming single, “Ellipsisism” on March 9 via hometown label, Warren Records.

“Ellipsisism” is taken from the band’s new EP, A Decline In Morality, out March 16th.

There's a feverish sense of panic and aggression to Cannibal Animal, who return to put their former UK City of Culture back on the map with dirty, scuzzy post-punk anthems centered around desperation and anxiety in the form of A Decline In Morality.  The EP was produced by The Talks' Pat Pretorious in AOO Studios in the band's hometown.

The band comments on their new record, revealing, “With this EP we were writing in a different mindset, rather than trying to write a collection of songs that merely blow the brains from your skull, we focused a lot more recently on rhythm and a few of these tracks ended up taking on a tribal-dance element.”

“Lyrically, these songs are about the moral compass of specific fictional characters; the candle burning nymphomaniac, in 'Lack Of Skin', to the boring office day job, and then actual cannibal by night in 'Ripe'; we invite you to take a decline in morality with these characters - they’re in all of you”, they conclude.

Cannibal Animal are: Luke Ellerington (vocals, guitar), Jacob White (guitar), Jamie Hanson (bass), and Thomas Joad Gibbins (drums).

alt-rock cannibal animal post-punk rock warren records