Written by Jonathan Cohen for Billboard Online

Slayer has reteamed with longtime collaborator Rick Rubin to executive produce its first new album with its four original members since 1990's "Seasons in the Abyss." The set will be released in the fall via Rubin's American Recordings imprint with Warner Bros.

Vocalist/Tom Araya, guitarists Kerry King and Jeff Hanneman and drummer Dave Lombardo reunited in 2003 and have toured frequently, but this is their maiden trip to the studio. "This is probably the most prepared we've been to record an album since the '80s," King says. "We've been writing and cutting demos for months."

Day-to-day production on the as-yet-untitled set, Slayer's first since 2001's "God Hates Us All," will be handled by Josh Abraham (Velvet Revolver, Staind). Titles in the early mix for inclusion are "Supremist," "Consfearacy" and "Catalyst."

On June 6 in San Diego, Slayer will return to the road for the Unholy Alliance Tour, which will also feature Mastodon, Lamb Of God, Children Of Bodom and Thine Eyes Bleed.

Source: Billboard