The Swedish experimental outfit drops its dark and harsh self-titled album via Thrill Jockey.

Swedish experimental post-punk/noise rock band The Skull Defekts recently released a self-titled album, it’s 4th for Thrill Jockey.  It’s a dark and harsh blast with slivers of hope from the rock outfit.

The Skull Defekts is also the band’s last album after a decade of records and touring.  The members knew when entering the studio that this would be their swan song and they’ve put all they got into their final offering.

The Skull Defekts are Joachim Nordwall (Kid Commando), Daniel Fagge Fagerström (8 Days of Nothing), Henrik Rylander (Union Carbide Productions), and newest member Mariam Wallentin (Wildbirds & Peacedrums), all of whom are active in the experimental music scene in Scandinavia.

The band’s breakthrough from the underground came in 2011 with the release of Peer Amid featuring former Lungfish member Daniel Higgs, who is an honorary 5th member of the group. Since then, they’ve been on the cutting edge of a new wave of radical, self-described ‘ritual rock’ linked to the region where they reside.

In a released statement that Nordwall composed in Gothenburg late last year, he says of the band’s demise and last album, “The Skull Defekts has been an important part of our lives. It is no longer. We want to thank all labels we have worked with (especially Thrill Jockey Records who have been extremely supportive during the years), Regina our booking agent, promoters, past members and collaborators and thanks everyone who came to our shows and understood or didn’t understand our music. We do love you.”

A mini-tour of Sweden and Norway starts in early March.

Listen to The Skull Defekts in full and purchase at Bandcamp:

alt-rock alternative rock experimental rock noise rock post-punk ritual rock the skull defekts thrill jockey